A glance back and a look forward

That’s it. I just finished my last run of the year. Where has the time gone?

Well,  I managed to complete 141 running workouts for a total of 1303 km including training runs, races and just plain fun runs. My all time high miles in one year!

This year was a great one for me. I ran races in the 5k, 10k and half marathon distances earning a personal best time in each, and I ran my first 30k.

I also spent about 4 months challenging myself training for a series of 5k races. My ultimate goal was to chop 3 minutes and 31 seconds off my existing PB and come in under 30 minutes. It was a huge challenge and although I did not achieve the goal, I learned a lot about myself, my drive, my commitment. I thoroughly enjoyed training for those races and ended up with a PB of 30:47 which was a 2 minute 43 second gain. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t disappointed that I didn’t achieve the end goal I set out for but I’ve come to terms with it… for now. Who am I kidding? I REALLY want that 30 minute 5k…

B&O Yorkville 5k finish

B&O Yorkville 5k finish. PB of 30:47 and my proudest moment of the year.

Looking ahead to 2014 I have some great things planned. This is going to be my biggest year yet. It’s marathon year! I’m waiting for details on registration for the Chicago Marathon and hoping that I will be there next October 12th with a good sized contingent of my running peeps. There are 7 or 8 of us planning to run the race and others hoping to come along and cheer us on.

Before that, I’ve got the 30k Around the Bay Road Race at the end of March for which training will begin in January. Once that’s done, I have about 3 months before training for Chicago starts.

I’m still trying to decide what I want to do with those 3 months. I’d like to run one of the Yonge Street 10k races that take place in April and May. The one in April (Toronto Yonge Street 10k) is just two weeks after Around the Bay. Too close together to have any good results and the one in May (Sporting Life 10k) was a mess at the finish line last year with congestion that caused me to stop just short of the finish line and then take an additional 32 seconds to walk across the line so it’s left a bit of a sour taste in my mouth even though I still did earn a PB in that race. I’m also considering taking this time to work on that 5k race again but I’m worried that the dedication I need to give to the hard intervals and training may wear me out for the marathon training which is going to be a huge challenge for me. The 5k race may need to sit on simmer until after the marathon.

Whatever I do, I will throw myself into it with everything I have. After all – If you want to see results, you have to work for them, right?

Marathon shoes

Fall marathon shoes are ready and waiting

Leave a Reply

