It’s official!

A few days ago I received the email that confirms my goal for the year can indeed be met. I have won a place in the 2014 Chicago Marathon. What makes it even more exciting is that everyone that I was hoping to share this experience with was also selected!

photo(5)

The idea of running a marathon was formed about a year and a half ago. I’d been thinking about it, but knowing I couldn’t do it alone, I put it out there to my peeps just after signing up for our first 30k race. That’s when I started this blog to track my progress along the way.

As much as Mike and other friends who are multiple marathon runners would disagree, I don’t think I’ll be inspired to run anymore marathons after Chicago. I like the half marathon distance and expect that I will go back to them once I’ve checked this item off my bucket list.

That being said, I’m really excited to be pushing myself way outside of my comfort zone. There’s a big difference between running a half and running a full, and I don’t pretend to think that the couple of 30k races I’ve run have given me even a glimpse of what I’m up against.

I have about 7 weeks before training starts and I hope to take a few weeks to rest up and really dial back the workouts before the madness ensues.

Making it into Chicago, with my running peeps and Mike, is truly a dream come true for me. It still hasn’t really sunk in. I’m having a hard time believing that it’s actually happening. I keep going from being in denial one minute to “holy crap!” the next.

But, I look forward to the challenge of the training, the excitement of the race and sharing it all with many of the people who have helped get me there.

Chi-town, here we come!

Pictures

Leave a Reply

